Aviation Awards Program

The Philippine International Hot Air Balloon Fiesta is pleased to launch the 2017 Aviation Awards Program.

The awards honor those people who exemplify the highest standards of flying and service or have made outstanding contributions to Philippine air transportation system and the people they serve.

Winners will be notified in advance of the presentation ceremony.

We invite you to nominate individuals under any of the of the categories below. The DEADLINE for submission of nominees is on 21 December 2016.


1) Fixed Wing Pilot of the Year
2) Helicopter Pilot of the Year
3) Flight Instructor of the Year
4) Female Pilot of the Year
5) CAAP Check Pilot of the Year
6) CAAP Controller of the Year
7) Aircraft Mechanic of the Year


The awards for Fixed Wing Pilot of the Year, Helicopter Pilot of the Year, Flight Instructor of the Year, and Female Pilot of the Year, are presented to individuals who have demonstrated significant flying time, and number of years of safe and excellent flying skills, plus positive achievement and contribution to improve the processes and operations of the company they serve.

The awards for CAAP Check Pilot and CAAP Controller are presented to CAAP personnel who have provided a high level of service and dedication to their duty. In addition, the CAAP Check Pilot must have enhanced pilot safety through diligent and professional conduct of pre-flight briefings, check rides, and pilot evaluations.

The Aircraft Mechanic of the Year award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated his knowledge and dedication to maintaining an airworthy aircraft. This individual has significantly contributed to improvement of the processes and operations of the company, specifically in the area of aircraft safety; where appropriate, supporting colleagues through training and mentoring.


Minimum Years of Experience:

– for PILOTS:: min. 1,000 total flight hours
– for the INSTRUCTOR:: min. 500 flight instructor hours
– for the MECHANIC:: min. 3 years
– for the CAAP CHECK PILOT:: at least 2 years
– for the CAAP ATC:: min. 3 years